Bits and bobs

After the blanket was finished, I felt so aimless. I’ve been working on a few projects. Nothing of any significance or part of planned schedule. Until it dawned on me that it’s really September and the chances of fall showing up soon reminded me that my little sisters birthday is at the end of the month. I had an idea of what I wanted to make her, started one project and it just didn’t feel right. So I found another that had me in a rush to finish just so I could see how well my stranded knitting is.

image

I’m super excited and can’t wait to see her face. She’s a major whovian and I think it will suit her well. I was impressed with how well I did catching the floats through out the whole process. I’m feeling a wee bit braver with trying new things, so I decided to pull out the dreaded dpns and try a small project that may lead into a larger one.

image

A lip balm sock cozy. I learned the process of the afterthought heel. I’m not a huge fan but it was pretty interesting.
Another thing that kept crossing my mind with decorations were ones made for us knitters rather than recipients.  I started on a little one that I need to finish.

image

It will look like a Christmas gift wip hanging from the tree later on when we get it put up. I also learned that toothpicks are the equivalent if not super close to being 2.00 mm sized. I started knitting with my wooden dpns before I switched over to my bejeweled toothpickles.  (Toothpick+needles=need I say more)
Anyways, I’m looking for super small and easy projects to keep me busy. There were some cute owl ornaments but I decided to make them smallish toys for my darling thing 1 and thing 2. I totally bailed on picture taking, they don’t even know I made them (it only took 2 hours to make 2 of em, which impressed me). Now to keep an eye out for more little knick knacks to practice on.

One thought on “Bits and bobs

Leave a Reply

