Updates

My to-do list still has many things on it. I still owe my better half a pair of socks, that are slowly working up. I actually didn’t have any knitting time for 2 days. I thought I was going to go bonkers! But I did bake a boatload of cookies! And who wouldn’t want a gingerbread Dalek?

image

image

This pair of socks is going to be my first fully reinforced pair, and its quite an interesting learning process. Needless to say, a certain someone is getting excited about them.

I managed to score a swift and a much needed stand for my loom for Christmas and ordered some Texsolv tie ups so I can get some serious weaving done. Texsolv is super pricey but it seems to be less of a pain than the tie ups the Kromski Harps are sold with. The Kromski’s are sold with a fusable string that you cut in even increments and melt the ends and bond them together. They aren’t marked and you have to measure carefully and they break apart if you are a tight warper. Even if you don’t warp particularly tight they tend to pop off in the middle of a project. So it’s worth the investment in my mind to get the Texsolv because it has an anchor system. It uses loops and 2 piece anchors that hold them in place.

image

So this lady is super excited to get to working on this baby again!

image

I am quite fortunate to have such a supportive family when it comes to my love of fiber arts. Christmas was spent with my mom and step dad and sister. They enjoyed their gifts and love getting hand made things. The man cave sign is up at the man cave and suits it well.

image

Along with the gifting gratitude, food, and yuletide spirit, came a few bouts of bad news. A good friend from school passed away, and I’m currently awaiting news on my last living grandmother who is being taken off all life supporting measures. This Christmas has been a rollercoaster. I’m trying to be strong for my kids over the break, and for my mom who is dealing with this much harder than I am. So I’m probably going to be m.i.a. for a while.

Leave a Reply

