The magic of the Wool Eater Blanket

Ever since I first laid eyes on Bavarian crochet, I knew I would love it. I didn’t know how much work or how much less work, to be precise, there was really to it. It looks a bit intimidating if you look at the multi-colored variations of blankets that have been made. I thought it was going to be more difficult, having not really picked up the hook for anything more than a sporadic stuffed animal and dropped stitches in the last couple of years. I think we make things out to be more intimidating than they really are when we are lacking self-confidence. Well, I bit the bullet, read the instructions over a few times and started a baby blanket for my sister. image Somewhere under all that blanket and yarn is my table and 3 or 4 knitting projects. Procrastination, thy name is Jamie, and she is too busy enjoying the beautiful burst of color to care about the mess. Also, also, also. Speaking of procrastination,  I finally finished the Bluebell baby cardigan, and it is so tiny! image I really couldn’t believe how little it was for all the work that went into it. It will be a snug newborn sized cardi, in time for the cold Michigan weather that will hit when my sister is due this winter. I can’t wait to make a few more things. I enjoy making baby things the most. Speaking of babies, my sister in law is due to pop within the next couple of weeks and I can’t wait to find out if we are having a niece or nephew. My fingers are crossed that she has a July baby so we have another July birthday to celebrate.

Things are about to get a whole lot quieter around here because school starts in less than two weeks. It means I get my knitting time back, uninterrupted!  I’m hoping Ethan’s ear infection,  which has now turned into a double inner ear infection, is gone be the time we have orientation next Friday.  Rachel has managed to get some sinus cold/respiratory thing, and it has been shared around with the husband and myself.  So we are crossing fingers and wishing ourselves better, because everything seems to go wrong at once around here. A caulking issue with the bathtub in the main bathroom sprung a leak and we ended up with water pouring into our bedroom from the ceiling again, same hole. A toilet malfunctioning and leaking into the bathroom. Late summer blight killed out tomatoes and is trying to kill our squash. Between these and needing 1 root canal and just having had 1 root canal, things can only get better from here. At least we have all the school supplies and they’re organized.

I can’t wait for fall to get here so I can enjoy bike rides and pumpkin spice everything and 60 degree weather.

4 thoughts on “The magic of the Wool Eater Blanket

Leave a Reply

