Stash Purge

IMG_20150903_142904IMG_20150903_144119

When the brain and fingers refuse to cooperate, the pumpkin spice lattes and cleaning purges begin. It was a bit of a drizzly day to begin with. I don’t like sitting idle. Outlander was over much sooner than I had expected last night to my dismay. I thought I had another hour of reading, and ended up with that lost feeling, between the lace rage, the book despair, some personal familial dysfunction-because my family puts the fun in dysfunctional, the week has been a bit sporadic. The room parent duties are picking up, and I’ve apparently jumped the gun, and done some of the stuff I needed to ahead of myself, now it’s just a matter of organizing chaos and making sure people have things together so we can communicate effectively. I don’t want to be overbearing or unorganized and lackadaisical. I’m an anxious person can you tell?

So now I’m waiting for emails, waiting for a list. In the process of waiting and not knitting I have started rearranging. I do this sporadically. It’s either a nervous habit, a depressive habit, or one to keep me from the latter. It refreshes the scenery, the mind, and makes new of the old. It’s the ingenious bargain makeover. It’s a great way to clean as you go as well. You find all sorts of treasures that have gotten lost with the ages and trash that mysteriously never made it to the proper facilities. Then for some reason, you reach a point where you may think I have too much in here. What happened to the nice simple room? It’s all chaos now, no matter how much I clean! The decluttering has begun. One thing leads to another and then before you know it, you finally come to terms with the size of your yarn stash. You no longer need to hoard the acrylic you don’t use. No seriously! I can hear some of you laughing with doubt. I know not everyone has a broad spectrum of materials in their yarn stash. I’ve gotten to the point where I just can’t use cheap acrylic without breaking out and I can no longer fool myself into thinking I’m ever going to use it, gloved and long sleeved or not.  So I organized and wound some of the larger balls, and made an album and listed them locally for sale. There were a few miscellaneous cotton and wool and some bamboo blends mixed in. But I had to be realistic. If I ever wanted to make use my stash, I’d have to get rid of things that were taking up room for potential yarn.

20150903_172225

I feels weird getting rid of the first big chunk of stash I have ever had, but I turn around and look at my shelves and still have a ton of yarn to work through. I just need motivation, inspiration, and maybe a good rolling black out to get it all going.

Leave a Reply

