Recovery, a bit of knitting, and a yummy yarn package! (my appendectomy story)

Things have been slowly moving back to normal since my appendectomy. Having that out is not nearly as fun as you imagine as a child.I had had ultrasounds, a cat scan, and more tests than you can shake a stick at before my stubbornness finally asked for the morphine. It took 8 hours to get my diagnosis, after many blood tests, poking and prodding, a final reassurance that I had indeed not eaten or drank more than 10 oz of water the entire day and that I was ready to have that appendix removed – they finally wheeled me back and had it out within an hour. Believe me, I was one of the lucky people, who came in early, at the vaguest onset of symptoms. I was nowhere near the worst of it, had I of waited another day, boy would that be another story!

20150910_014249-1

Once you get out of the hospital and back in your own bed you think life is going to return back to normal. It’s not that easy. They gave me opiates that made me itch and I would wake like a newborn through out the night, as if the nurses schedule of nebulizer treatments in the hospital wasn’t enough to keep me awake at all hours of the night. Knitting was out of question the first few days. So was eating. Slowly but surely my sleep schedule is getting back on track, it’s not quite there, but I’ll attribute that more to my book worming that anything. I have an appointment with my surgeon as a follow up tomorrow. The incisions are still sore, my belly button is probably the most annoying one at the moment, and seems to internally micro-tear every time I sit or stand up. Understandably, it is the most awkwardly placed one. It seems to be improving by the day, so I’m aiming not to feel it’s nuisance presence by Halloween.

Now for the fun stuff! I’m so excited to share a beautiful package of yarn and goodies I received from Heather Partangel at Enchanted Stitches. I have known Heather for years. She was my art teacher when I was in school, and she was always working on embroidering beautiful glass beadwork on bags, and treated some of her favorite students to a few special treats and was my favorite teacher. I got back in touch with her and discovered we both had a lot in common – including a passion for fiber arts. She has branched out from teaching and is now running Enchanted Stitches, on top of being a full time stay at home mom. She’s getting in new bases, and dyeing new colors, so be expecting new yarn yumminess soon! You can find Enchanted Stitches on Facebook here. She has done a brilliant job with the yarn, I will tell you that pictures don’t do it justice. I’m saving mine for the upcoming Supernatural MKAL, which you can get for free if you answer a trivia question. It’s going to be perfect!

20150914_102300

The colors are Galaxy and Peach Melba- and I want to stock pile more!

The colors are Galaxy and Peach Melba- and I want to stock pile more!

IMG_20150913_165331

A tea party was called for after being out in the ‘cold’

IMG_20150913_134913 IMG_20150913_165829IMG_20150913_170054IMG_20150920_210319

We’ve had some slightly cooler than usual days, low 70s, and the kids have been enjoying the change from the heat and humidity. Ray likes to borrow my hats when it gets a tad chilly for her liking. I enjoyed sitting and knitting while they played. It was fun just watching them get away from the electronics and legos for a bit. It gave me a chance to work some more on my “loud” hat. (it’s funny how in the spring 70 is shorts weather and in the fall it’s bundle up in all the knitwear weather)  As of last night I’m up to the middle of the 5th leaf, but it was a bit late to push much further. I’m hoping to be done by the end of the day, but I seem to have contracted a bug, and I’m hoping it’s a 24 hour one.

The only thing I have finished besides a couple of washcloths, was a skein of yarn from the squishy merino braid that I just received from Spunware Over The Rainbow. The color way is called christmas, and reminds me of those hard ribbon candies that taste like spearmint and peppermint. My spinning has not been the most consistent and it was not my finest skein, but it will make a nice hat or scarf, maybe even wrist warmers. Who knows, I haven’t decided. I have a feeling I’m going to be mighty busy once things get back to normal.20150920_110247

One thought on “Recovery, a bit of knitting, and a yummy yarn package! (my appendectomy story)

  1. Pingback: Autumn is showing and I love it! | Knitastrophe – a catastrophic knitter's blog

Leave a Reply

