Supernatural MKAL update

We have started a tradition of participating in F.A.R.E.’s Teal Pumpkin Project. I know I’ve talked about this before, but this is a big deal this time of year. I used to get super anxious when my daughter was little trick or treating. So much that I couldn’t go with when they went out, and I still don’t, but now it’s because I stay home to hand out non-food treats instead. It’s hard to enjoy taking your kids out when the only thought on your mind is how oblivious people can be to food allergies-how quick a thoughtless candy purchase can lead to an emergency room visit. Kids sneak candy when you aren’t looking.

IMG_20151024_192437

Would I be the mean dictator parent who doesn’t let my kids go out at all because of one child’s allergies over another who doesn’t have any?

I never saw the logic in that.

My husband would go out, and explain to each person handing out candy that she has food allergies. She would still end up with tons of Reese’s peanut butter cups and Almond Mounds, and stuff like that in her treat bag. Asking adults to do the right thing was like talking to a brick wall, asking a 3 year old to take responsibility for her body when she couldn’t ever read a label was like asking a fish to climb a tree. We implemented a wait until we get home policy. We sorted and let her pick a few pieces she wanted and dumped the rest. Nobody where we lived accommodated food allergies.

I wished I had heard of this project earlier and had gotten involved sooner. Now that my daughter is 9, an avid reader, a professional allergen identifier and exaggerator, she can be trusted to go trick or treating without the tightened reigns the way she used to be. We still sort candy and such, but now she negotiates trades with her younger brother who doesn’t have any food allergies and gets all his good candies instead. There will never be a Switch Witch in my house though, I’m not even going to get into my sentiments on it.

Switching gears,I’m really happy that I’m finally onto my main color in my Supernatural MKAL. The beautiful color way is Galaxy by Enchanted Stitches on their superwash merino sock base.

The colors are Galaxy and Peach Melba- and I want to stock pile more!

The colors are gorgeous and are a dream to knit with!

They also have another one of a kind run of Galaxy here, catch it quick before this gorgeous color way gone. The other color, the tonal orange, is Peach Melba, a one of a kind that was so scrumptious that I had to have it when I saw it.

20151026_180618

20151026_180607

It’s maddening how large this thing has gotten already. I’ve had to overnight some cable connectors because I don’t have any and my 60 inch cable is maxed already. I’m almost halfway through clue 3. I’m hoping to finish that by the end of Wednesday in time for clue 4. I’ve been playing a game of catch up-and by goodness I’m almost there. I did notice when I was on clue 2 that I made an error in the lace between the star points where I added and took out stitches to account for missing yos. I ended up with a bubble somewhere. Not exclusively looking for it, you won’t see it, but I was horrified when I first noticed it and put it down for about a day. I had to think on whether to tink back or not. Decided not to undo so much work, mainly to save time and catch up rather than waste it. Really glad I didn’t. It will be the nagging imperfection that I sit and remind myself that humanity, life in general, the world itself, is imperfect for a reason. It also reminds me of one of Sam and Dean’s scars- just a reminder of a run in with the hell they’ve been through-can’t we all relate?

In a moment of reflection, I’d like to take a moment to honor the memory of my Uncle George who passed away this past week. He grew up on a farm in upstate New York with 11 siblings, and was a very devout man. I can only remember meeting him on 2 occasions. Once at my grandmother’s funeral, and the second, a few years ago, when we were in town for my sister in law’s graduation. We were able to sit down and chat for a while and have coffee. He was a loving, hardworking, family man. He is dearly missed.

Leave a Reply

